Latest uploads:


2020-10-18: Stocker: works

2020-09-28: Pascal: works

2020-09-19: Sträßer: 3 Reigen

2020-09-07: Weismann

2020-09-06: Wohlfahrt

2020-09-03: Scheidemantel

2020-08-22: Le Roux: 2 pieces

2020-08-19: Casadesus: Aria

2020-08-06: Dyck: Symphony

2020-06-09: Juergensohn

2020-06-08: Kondor: Suite

2020-05-18: Leibowitz: Canon


Karl Herrmann

Karl Herrmann was born 23 August 1882 in Vienna (Austria). He first studied piano with Natalie Duesberg and music theory with Max Jentsch, Carl Lafite and Otto Müller. He later studied organ with Julius Böhm. Karl Herrmann first worked as a lecturer at the music school of August Duesberg in Vienna, but in 1914 he founded his own music school in his hometown. From 1934 to 1938 Karl Herrmann was teacher at the conservatory of folk music following a position as the music director of a Viennese music school. Karl Herrmann was also the founder of the "Wiener Tonkünstlerverein". He died on 30 January 1973 in Vienna.


Karl Herrmann composed over 300 works, among them are 6 symphonies, several masses, choral and vocal music, chamber music and piano works. Most of the autographs are archived at the Austrian National Library.

The work in my possession is the autograph manuscript of the String quartet No.6 op.195 which was composed between 3 and 27 May 1936. It consists of the four movements I. Langsam - II. Sehr langsam - III. Scherzo - IV. Fuga.

PDF-Dokument [681.2 KB]

The sound snippet below is a computer realisation of the beginning of the quartet.

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Tobias Broeker