Latest uploads:


2020-10-18: Stocker: works

2020-09-28: Pascal: works

2020-09-19: Sträßer: 3 Reigen

2020-09-07: Weismann

2020-09-06: Wohlfahrt

2020-09-03: Scheidemantel

2020-08-22: Le Roux: 2 pieces

2020-08-19: Casadesus: Aria

2020-08-06: Dyck: Symphony

2020-06-09: Juergensohn

2020-06-08: Kondor: Suite

2020-05-18: Leibowitz: Canon


Artur Grenz

Artur Grenz was born on 17 April 1909 in Bremen (Germany). He studied viola, composition and conducting at the Hochschule für Musik in Berlin under Georg Schünemann, Artur Rother and Paul Hindemith.

After his studies Artur Grenz was violist in different orchestras like the Berliner Kammerorchester or the Opernhaus-Orchester Berlin. He also focussed on composing. His ballet „Der Zauberlehrling“ was premiered at the Volksoper Berlin in 1939. After World War II Artur Grenz continued to compose and to perform as a violist in the NWDR Broadcasting Orchestra and the corresponding chamber orchestra in Hamburg. But he also founded a music school in Bad Kissingen and his own orchestra – the Nordfranken-Orchester – in Schweinfurt.

In 1964 the Radio Symphony Orchestra in Hamburg was dissolved and Artur Grenz moved to Quickborn (near Hamburg). In the following years he earned a living from teaching at the local gymnasium, founding the local music school and the ensemble „Collegium musicum“. With his work Artur Grenz had a major impact on the musical life in Quickborn for more than two decades.

Artur Grenz died on 14 September 1988 in Quickborn (Germany).


Among the compositions by Artur Grenz are a Sinfonietta for orchestra, Music for string orchestra, a Violin concerto, a Capriccio for piano and orchestra, the ballet "Der Zauberlehrling", "Die drei Zigeuner" for choir and orchestra, 2 string quartets, 2 string trios, a fantasy for viola and piano and many small compositions for students.


In my possession is the autograph manuscript of the "Sinfonietta" in a piano reduction for 2 pianos. The work is originally scored for orchestra. The manuscript consists of 36 pages and it was composed between 31.12.1941 and 27.02.1942. The was finished in Berlin, the third movement in Ferrara according to the manuscript. In addition I own an autograph manuscript of only the first piano part which has the name "Emmy" on the title page. This surely refers to the pianist Emmy Grenz, the wife of the composer.

The Sinfonietta never received a performance in its piano reduction. The original orchestral version was broadcasted (and so premiered?) on 31 December 1949 through Radio Bremen. The orchestral score is published by Sikorski.

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Tobias Broeker