Latest uploads:


2020-10-18: Stocker: works

2020-09-28: Pascal: works

2020-09-19: Sträßer: 3 Reigen

2020-09-07: Weismann

2020-09-06: Wohlfahrt

2020-09-03: Scheidemantel

2020-08-22: Le Roux: 2 pieces

2020-08-19: Casadesus: Aria

2020-08-06: Dyck: Symphony

2020-06-09: Juergensohn

2020-06-08: Kondor: Suite

2020-05-18: Leibowitz: Canon


Felix-Eberhard von Cube

Felix-Eberhard von Cube was born on 27 January 1903 in Hannover (Germany). His father was an architect and the family weel-to-do. He first studied music privately under Otto Vrieslander and from 1924 to 1926 under Heinrich Schenker in Vienna. Felix-Eberhard von Cube then moved to Duisburg where he lectured at the "Rheinisches Musikseminar". In 1931 he founded together with Moriz Violin a Schenker-Institute in Hamburg. Due to the rise of the Nazi regime the institution was closed in 1934 and Felix-Eberhard von Cube was banned from profession. So he privately continued his studies about the Schenkerian analysis and wrote two books about it ("The Book of the Musical Artwork 1 and 2"). These books were published after World War II and von Cube also reopened the Schenker-Institute in Hamburg. From 1961 to 1973 he also taught composition at the conservatory in Hamburg. Felix-Eberhard von Cube died on 12 March 1988 in Hamburg.


Beside his work as a teacher and writer of books on music theory Felix-Eberhard von Cube also composed music. Among his compositions are orchestral works, a violin concerto, a concerto for two pianos and orchestra, and chamber music.


In my possession is the autograph manuscript of the "Praeludium con Fuga in B♭, for piano op.21/1" by Felix-Eberhard von Cube. The work was composed in 1952 and is dedicated to Anthony van Hoboken, a Dutch musicologist now best known for his work on the compositions of Joseph Haydn and for creating the "Hoboken catalogue".

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Tobias Broeker